16. The Railway Children – Edith Nesbit

DSC_0422

novel, first edition 1906, English

 

´And as they turned to go up the hill, Bobbie saw her mother´s face.

“How tired you look, Mammy,” she said; “lean on me.”

“It´s my place to give Mother my arm,” said Peter. “I´m the head man of the family when Father´s away.”

Mother took the arm of each.

“How awfully nice,” said Phyllis, skipping joyfully, “to think of the dear Russian embracing his long-lost wife. The baby must have grown a lot since he saw her.”

“Yes,” said Mother.

“I wonder whether Father will think I´ve grown,” Phyllis went on, skipping still more gaily. “I have grown already, haven´t I, Mother?”

“Yes,” said Mother, “oh, yes,” and Bobbie and Peter felt her hands tighten on their arms.

“Poor old Mammy, you are tired,” said Peter.

Bobbie said, “Come on, Phil; I´ll race you to the gate.”

And she started the race, though she hated doing it. You know why Bobbie did that. Mother only thought that Bobbie was tired of walking slowly. Even Mothers, who love you better than anyone else ever will, don´t always understand.´

 

Edith Nesbith, The Railway Children, p 130-131

 

 

Leave a comment